PM Modi tweets Constitution Day video, Twitterati ask ‘where are the people who created it?’


New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi greeted the citizens of India today to mark the 67th anniversary of Constitution Day, on Mann ki baat he said  “Today is 26/11. The 26th of November is our Constitution Day. Constitution of India is the spirit of our democracy. This is the day to remember the members of the Constituent Assembly,”


He further added “Equality for all and sensitivity towards all is the unique characteristic of our Constitution. It guarantees fundamental rights to each and every citizen, whether underprivileged or oppressed, backward or deprived, a tribal or a woman. It protects their fundamental rights and safeguards their interests. It is our duty that we abide by our Constitution in letter and spirit.”

However many on Twitter were left amused and shocked after watching his video, which he tweeted to mark the Constitution Day. In 1 minute 35 seconds video, Prime Minister Narendra Modi explained how important our Constitution is and its advantages, but one thing was missing, there was no mention of the personalities who played important role in amending Indian Constitution and only PM Modi appeared in that video.

Watch Video below

PM Modi posted the video with the message “On Constitution Day, we salute the great women and men who gave India a Constitution we are proud of.” But in the video only he was visible, which obviously looks awkward as it was missing the names and pictures of people who created it. Indian Constitution was adopted on 26th November 1949 and it came in effect from 26th January 1950, marking the beginning of a new era in the history of India.

Ambedkar with members of the Drafting Committee of the Constituent Assembly, among them (seated from left) N. Madhava Rao, Saiyid Muhammad Saadulla, Alladi Krishnaswami Ayyar and the constitutional adviser Benegal Narsing Rau.

Dr. Bhimrao Ambedkar was elected as Chairman of this Drafting Committee. In the beginning of 1948, Dr. Ambedkar completed the draft of the Constitution and presented it in the Constituent Assembly. It was Mahatma Gandhi who asked Jawaharlal Nehru, the first Prime Minister of India, to invite Ambedkar to join the council of ministers. The Committee had 7 members, Dr BR Ambedkar, N.Gopalaswamy Iyengar, Alladi Krishnaswamy Iyer, Dr. K.M.Munshi, Syed Mohammad Saadullah, N.Madhavarao and T.T. Krishnamachary.

Twitterati reaction

People were quick to notice the blunder and asked PM Modi ‘where are the people who constructed, architected and drafted the Constitution.

With PTI inputs



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here