TOI journalist denies receiving Ramnath Goenka Award from PM Modi

Google Image

“I cannot live with the idea of Modi and me in the same frame, smiling at the camera even as he hands over the award to me,” journo Mukul said.

Google Image
Google Image

New Delhi, November 2: A senior journalist of times of India, Akshaya Mukul on Wednesday refused to accept the Ramnath Goenka Award from Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Since Mukul boycotted the awards event, the publisher and chief editor at HarperCollins India, Krishan Chopra received the award on his behalf. Mukul was given the award for his book ‘Gita Press’ and the ‘Making of Hindu India.’

The book ‘Making of Hindu India’ sheds light on the ideological moorings of Hindutva—ironically, the lynchpin of the prime minister’s politics. The critically acclaimed book is also the winner of Book of the Year Award, and the Atta Galatta-Bangalore Literature Festival Book Prize.

“I am extremely honoured to get the award. But I have problem in receiving the award from Modi,” Mukul told Catch News. The reports of Mukul boycotting the Ramnath Goenka Excellence in Journalism Awards function had begun doing the round son social media on Wednesday morning.

He also spoke to the senior journalist who writes for magazine ‘Caravan,’ Sandeep Bhushan and said, “I cannot live with the idea of Modi and me in the same frame, smiling at the camera even as he hands over the award to me.”

Further speaking on the issue, Bhushan said, “A journalist from the publication told me that these editors have raised questions over whether ‘journalism awards should be given by the prime minister at all, especially somebody as polarising as Modi.”

It is notable that several editors and journalists were unhappy that PM Modi was invited as the Chief Guest to give away the Ramnath Goenka Awards in 28 categories for exceptional work in print, broadcast and online journalism in English, Hindi, and regional languages.

Here is the complete list of winners:

Prakash Rakesh Kardaley Memorial Award for Civic Journalism

Christin Mathew Philip (The Times of India)

Uncovering India Invisible

Print | Ashwaq Masoodi (Mint)

Broadcast | Sarada Lahangir (Kalinga TV)


Print | Santosh Kumar (India Today)

Broadcast | Sanjay Nandan (ABP news), Syeda Afifa Khatoon (NEWS24)

Regional Languages

Print | Firos Khan M (Madhyamam Daily), Nileena Atholi (Mathrubhumi)

Broadcast | Pramod Shastri G (TV9)

Sports Journalism

Print | Devendra Pandey (The Indian Express)

Broadcast | Sanjeeb Mukherjea (CNN-IBN)

Reporting from J&K and the Northeast

Print | Esha Roy (The Indian Express) and Maddipatla Rajshekhar (

Broadcast| Shubhajit Sengupta (CNN_IBN)

Environmental reporting

Print | Pritha Chatterjee, Aniruddha Ghoshal (The Indian Express)

Broadcast | Sushil Chandra Bahuguna (NDTV India)
Business and Economic Journalism

Print | Kushboo Narayanan (The Indian Express) and Rajeev Dubey (Business Today)

Broadcast | Archana Shukla (CNBC TV18)

Foreign Correspondent covering India

Print | Victor John Mallet (Financial Times)

Investigative reporting

Print | Maneesha Pandey, Sandeep Pai (Newslaundry)

Broadcast | Ganesh Suratchand Thakur (ABP news)

On-the-spot reporting

Print | Nayantara Narayan (

Broadcast | Aamir Rafiq Peerzada, Rakesh Solanky (NDTV)

Feature writing | Shamik Bag (Mint), Sreedevi TV (Malayala Manorama)

Reporting on Politics and Government

Print | Ashutosh Bhardwaj (The Indian Express)

Broadcast | Halimabi Abdul Kureshi (IBN Lokmat)

Photo Journalism

Burhan Kinu (Hindustan Times)

Commentry and interpretative writing

Anna MM Vetticad (BLink), Pramit Bhattacharya (Mint)


Non-fiction | Author: Akshaya Mukul

Book: Gita Press & The Making of Hindu India

Publication: Harper Collins

Sanjiv Sinha Memorial Award for Excellence in Reporting

Aditi Vatsa (The Indian Express)

Priya Chandrashekar Memorial Award for Excellence in Editing

Saikat Kumar Bose (The Indian Express)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here